Jessica Jackley: Clay, Water, Brick -- Finding inspiration from entrepreneurs who do the most with the least

  • $10.00
  • Save $6.60


Clay Water Brick: Finding Inspiration from Entrepreneurs Who Do the Most with the Least
by Jessica Jackley

ShopO was inspired by Jessica Jackley and her founding of Kiva.org’s micro-lending services to believe we can create 10+ million micro-LLCs. Jessica has done what we aspire to do and we’d love to have her as ShopO CEO.

In addition, to her amazing work at Kiva, she has also written this great book.

If you like you can buy it here from Amazon or with US Dollars or JobCoins in the ShopO-MallYou can buy it here:

http://astore.amazon.com/20-malltownusa-20/detail/0679643761

Here is Jessica speaking at Google about the stories that inspired her to write the book.

Here are some reviews of the book:

In the tradition of Kabul Beauty School and Start Something That Matters comes an inspiring story of social entrepreneurship from the co-founder of Kiva, the first online microlending platform for the working poor. Featuring lessons learned from successful businesses in the world’s poorest countries, Jessica Jackley’s Clay Water Brick will motivate readers to more deeply appreciate the incredible entrepreneurial potential that exists in every human being on this planet—especially themselves.

“The heart of entrepreneurship is never about what we have. It’s about what we do.”

Meet Patrick, who had next to nothing and started a thriving business using just the ground beneath his feet . . .

Blessing, who built her shop right in the middle of the road, refusing to take the chance that her customers might pass her by . . .

Constance, who cornered the banana market in her African village with her big personality and sense of mission.

Patrick, Blessing, Constance, and many others are among the poorest of the world’s poor. And yet they each had crucial lessons to teach Jessica Jackley—lessons about resilience, creativity, perseverance, and, above all, entrepreneurship.

For as long as she could remember, Jackley, the co-founder of the revolutionary microlending site Kiva, had a singular and urgent ambition: to help alleviate global poverty. While in her twenties, she set off for Africa to finally meet the people she had long dreamed of helping. The insights of those she met changed her understanding. Today she believes that many of the most inspiring entrepreneurs in the world are not focused on high-tech ventures or making a lot of money; instead, they wake up every day and build better lives for themselves, their families, and their communities, regardless of the things they lack or the obstacles they encounter. As Jackley puts it, “The greatest entrepreneurs succeed not because of what they possess but because of what they are determined to do.”

In Clay Water Brick, Jackley challenges readers to embrace entrepreneurship as a powerful force for change in the world. She shares her own story of founding Kiva with little more than a laptop and a dream, and the stories and the lessons she has learned from those across the globe who are doing the most with the least.

Praise for Clay Water Brick

“Jessica Jackley didn’t wait for permission to change the world—she just did it. It turns out that you can too.”—Seth Godin, author of What to Do When It’s Your Turn

“Fascinating . . . gripping . . . bursting with lessons . . . Jessica Jackley has written a remarkable book . . . so thoroughly well meaning and engagingly put it is too magnetic to put down.”—Financial Times

“Clay Water Brick is a tremendously inspiring read. Jessica Jackley, the virtuoso co-founder of the revolutionary microlending platform Kiva, shares uplifting stories and compelling lessons on entrepreneurship, resilience, and character.”—Adam Grant, author of Give and Take

“A blueprint for anyone who wants to make the world a better place and find fulfillment in the process, no matter how scarce their resources or how steep the challenge.”—Arianna Huffington

“This book is inspirational. And honest and practical. . . . Well written, thoughtful: a selfless account of how to succeed by doing right and following your heart.”—Booklist